No-Wash Overnight Oatmeal

“No-wash” and “overnight” are probably two adjectives people stray away from when describing their food. Nonetheless, there’s a story behind this recipe and I hope you’ll bear with me long enough to get to the end of it!

Growing up, my parents always did the dishes by hand. The dishwasher was extra storage for clean dishes–never for dirty ones. As a result, my parents strongly encouraged ways to minimize dirty dishes during the cooking and eating process.

The beauty of the dishwasher was unknown to me until I moved into my own apartment after graduating college. I had always wondered if washing dishes was a character building exercise or if my parents were so good at hand-washing dishes that, contrary to popular belief (and scientific evidence), they were able to save water through their manual approach.

Although my dishwasher has seen its fair share of dirty and clean dishes, my parents have instilled in me strong values of dish-usage minimization. And it is these values that have inspired the no-wash overnight oatmeal.

image

Unless you are very particular about measuring out the ingredients, this recipe will not leave you with any dirty dishes! Although didn’t your parents ever tell you that if it sounds too good to be true, it must be too good to be true? There’s a caveat–you have to clean up the container after you’ve swallowed the last bite!

IMG_6868.JPG

Ingredients / Supplies:

  • 1 16 oz. mason jar
  • 1 cup of old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp of shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp of chia seeds
  • 2 tsp of agave
  • 1 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • Fresh fruit and pecans (optional toppings)

Directions:

  1. Fill the mason jar with oats up to the 1 cup line
  2. Add in coconut flakes and chia seeds to taste
  3. Pour almond milk up to the first lid-line
  4. Drizzle in agave
  5. Close lid and shake to combine ingredients
  6. Refrigerate overnight
  7. Top with fresh fruit and/or nuts (optional)
  8. Wash mason jar when done

 

2 thoughts on “No-Wash Overnight Oatmeal

  1. if you want to make this Life Changing Recipe but are a child and only have instant oatmeal, marina says you can increase the oatmeal : almond milk ratio to achieve a similar texture! 1:1 worked for me and now I just eat two jars of this recipe every weekend for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

    Like

Leave a Reply

